How to Disable Account Link in Telegram Forwarded Messages
  • Save
Home » Telegram » How to Disable Account Link in Telegram Forwarded Messages

How to Disable Account Link in Telegram Forwarded Messages

If someone forwards your message, it has a link to your Telegram account. If you don’t want that, you can disable the account link. Let’s see how.

I use the app (Android phone and iPhone), Desktop, and Web.

Disable Account Link in Telegram Forwarded Messages (Android)

Open the Telegram app and hit the three horizontal lines at the top left. Select Settings between Saved Messages and Invite Friends.

Hit Privacy and Security between Notifications and Sounds and Data and Storage.

In the Privacy section, you can see Forwarded Messages between “Profile Photos & Videos” and “Calls.”

Hit it, and you can see the “Who can add a link to my account when forwarding my messages” section.

Choose Everybody to let anyone have the account link in their forwarded messages. If you prefer to allow your contacts only to have it, select My Contacts.

To disable the account link, choose Nobody.

Hit the Tick icon at the top right.

That’s it.

If you like to add exceptions to the above, follow the below steps:

Hit Add Users, which is beside “Never Allow.” Choose the people and group you want. Those can never have their forwarded messages containing your account link. Tap the Tick icon at the bottom right.

Hit Add Users beside “Always Allow.” You can only see this option if you choose “My Contacts” or “Nobody” in the above steps.

Choose the group and people you want; they always have your account link in the forwarded messages. Tap the Tick icon at the bottom right.

That’s it. Ensure to hit the Tick icon at the top right.

Remember that this exception overrides the setting which you see at the top.

How to Disable Telegram Forwarded Messages Account Link (iPhone)

Open the Telegram app and hit Settings at the bottom.

Hit Privacy and Security between Notifications and Sounds and Data and Storage.

You can see “Forwarded Messages” between “Voice Messages” and “Groups & Channels” in the “Privacy” section.

Hit it, and you can see the “Who Can Add A Link To My Account When Forwarding My Messages” section.

Choose Everybody to let anyone have an account link in their forwarded messages. If you prefer to allow your contacts only to have it, select My Contacts.

To deactivate the account link, choose Nobody.

Hit the Back at the top left.

That’s it.

You can add exceptions to the above and here’s how:

Hit Add Users, which is beside Never Allow. Choose the people and group you want and those can never have their forwarded messages containing your account link. Tap Done at the top right.

Hit Add Users beside Always Share With. You can only see this option if you choose “My Contacts” or “Nobody” in the above steps.

Choose the ones you want and they always have your account link in the forwarded messages. Tap Done at the top right.

That’s it. Make sure to tap Back at the top left. Keep in mind that this exception overrides the setting which you see at the top.

How to Deactivate Account Link in Forwarded Messages on Telegram Web or Desktop

Here are the steps to deactivate the Telegram forwarded messages account link:

Open the Telegram Web or Desktop app. Hit the three horizontal lines in the left sidebar.

Select Settings > Privacy and Security.

Hit “Forwarded messages” if you’re on the Desktop app. Click Who can add a link to my account when forwarding my messages if you’re on the Web.

Choose Everybody, My Contacts, or Nobody. Please see the above section to learn about these options.

To disable the account link, choose Nobody. Hit the Save option if you’re using Desktop or the Back arrow at the top left if you’re using Web.

That’s it.

You can add exceptions to the above with the below steps:

Hit Add Users beside Never Allow.

Pick the people and group you want and they can never have their forwarded messages containing your account link. Hit Save if you’re on Desktop or the Arrow icon at the bottom on Telegram Web.

Hit Add Users beside Always Allow. You can only see this option if you choose “My Contacts” or “Nobody” in the above steps.

Select the group and people you want and they always have your account link in the forwarded messages. Hit Save if you’re on Desktop or the Arrow icon at the bottom on Telegram Web.

That’s it. Make sure to hit Save (if you’re using Desktop) or the Back arrow at the top left (if you’re using Web). Keep in mind, this exception overrides the setting you see at the top.

That’s all.

Thanks for reading.