How to Add Participant to WhatsApp Group
  • Save
Home » WhatsApp » How to Add Participant to WhatsApp Group

How to Add Participant to WhatsApp Group

In this post, you’ll see the steps to add and remove participants in the WhatsApp group.

You’ll also see the steps to invite people to the WhatsApp group. Remember that you need to be a group admin to do all the things mentioned so far.

You’ll also view the steps to stop someone from adding you to the WhatsApp group. Let’s begin.

Add Participant to WhatsApp Group

Android or iPhone

Open the WhatsApp app and hit the group to which you want to add a member.

Tap the group name at the top. Locate the “Add participants” option. Hit it.

Add participants
  • Save

You can view your WhatsApp contacts. Choose all the contacts you want to add to the group.

On Android, hit the “Tick” icon at the bottom right. On iPhone, tap “Add” at the top right and hit “Add” on the popup.

Web

Open WhatsApp Web. Hit the group chat and click on the group subject at the top. You’ll see the “Add participant” option on the right sidebar. Click on it.

Select the contacts and click on the “Tick” icon. Hit the “Add Participant” button on the popup.

Desktop

In the Desktop app, open the group chat and click on the group name at the top.

Select Participants > Add participants. Select the contacts you wish. I select only one here.

Click on the “Add 1 person” button. You can see the “Add X people” button if you add more than one person. X is the number of persons you’ve selected.

Hit “Yes” in the popup.

Invite Someone to Join the WhatsApp Group

When you invite someone, the person will get a link to join the group. And remember that any WhatsApp user with that link can use it to join the group.

Android or iPhone

Open the WhatsApp group and hit its name at the top.

Scroll down until you see the “Invite to Group via Link” (if you’re on iPhone) or the “Invite via link” (if you’re on Android). Hit that option.

There, you can see the link along with these options:

Options regarding group invite link
  • Save
  • Send Link Via WhatsApp – Using this option, you can send the link via WhatsApp.
  • Share Link – This is for sharing the link using other apps.
  • Copy Link – This option is for copying the link.
  • QR Code – This one shows the group QR code, which you can share, and the recipients of this QR code can join the group using this. Use the “Share” icon at the top right to share this.
  • Reset Link – This one is for resetting the link. Hit it and hit “Reset Link” in the popup. If you use this option, the current link becomes invalid, and you can see a new one.

Please choose the one you prefer.

Note:

The “Reset QR Code” option is for resetting the QR code. You must hit the three vertical dots on Android’s top right to see this option.

Hit the option and hit “Reset.”

That’s all. When you reset it, both the existing QR code and the invite link become invalid, and you can see the new one.

Web

In WhatsApp Web, click the group and hit its name at the top.

Click the “Invite to group via link” on the right sidebar. You can view the link along with these three options:

  • Send link via WhatsApp – For sending the link via WhatsApp.
  • Copy link – For copying the link.
  • Reset link – For resetting the link. Hit it and click “Reset Link” in the popup.

Please choose the one you prefer.

Desktop

In the Desktop app, open the group and hit its name at the top.

Hit “Participants” and click “Invite to group via link.” You can view the link and these two buttons:

  • Copy link – This is for copying the link.
  • Revoke link – This is for resetting the link. Hit it and hit the Revoke link in the popup.

Use the one you prefer.

Remove Someone from a WhatsApp Group

Android or iPhone

In the group chat, hit the name at the top. Hit the participant’s name.

Select “Remove from Group” if you’re using iPhone. Select “Remove (member name)” if you’re on Android.

Remove from Group option
  • Save

Hit “Remove” if you’re using an iPhone. If you’re on Android, hit “OK.”

Web

In Web, hit the group chat you want and the name at the top. On the right sidebar, find the participant’s name.

Please hover your mouse over it and hit the “Down arrow.” Select the “Remove” option and hit “Remove.”

Desktop

On the Desktop app, hit the group chat you want.

Hit the name at the top and hit “Participants.” Right-click on the member name and select “Remove from group.”

In the popup, click “Yes.”.

Stop Someone From Adding Me to the WhatsApp Group

By default, anyone can add you to the WhatsApp group. To stop that, follow the steps below.

But remember that a group admin who can’t add you to the WhatsApp group can still invite you privately to join.

iPhone or Android

Launch the WhatsApp app.

On your iPhone, hit “Settings” at the bottom. On Android, tap the three vertical dots at the top right and select “Settings.”

Select “Privacy” and hit “Groups.”

Groups option
  • Save

Beneath the “Who Can Add Me to Groups” section, you can see these three options:

  • Everyone – If you choose this option, anyone can add you to the WhatsApp group.
  • My Contacts – If you select this option, only your contacts can do this.
  • My Contacts Except – If you choose this one, only your contacts, except those you’ve chosen, can do this.

Choose the one you prefer. I picked the latter.

My Contacts Except option
  • Save

You can now choose the contacts you like.

On iPhone, the “Select All” at the bottom right is to select all. The “Deselect All” will deselect all you’ve chosen. On Android, the icon at the top right is for selecting all. If you chose all and hit the same icon, it’ll uncheck all contacts.

Hit the “Done” on the top right on iPhone. On Android, hit the “Tick” icon in the bottom right.

Web

In WhatsApp Web, hit the three vertical dots on the top of the left sidebar.

Select Settings > Privacy.

Click “Groups” between “Default message timer” and “Blocked contacts.”

You can now view these three options: Everyone, My contacts, and My contacts except. Please check the above section to know what each option is.

Choose the one you prefer.

I selected the latter. Select the contacts you like. Note that the icon at the top right is to select all the contacts. If you’ve already chosen all, hitting this icon will deselect them. Hit the “Tick” icon at the bottom.

That’s it.

On the Desktop app, you can’t do this task. But you can see what option you’ve chosen for this setting.

Here’s how: In the Desktop app, hit the “Gear” icon on the bottom left. Click “Account.”

In the “Privacy” section, besides “Add to groups,” you can see your chosen option.