Home » Telegram » How to Change Who Can Add You to Telegram Groups and Channels

How to Change Who Can Add You to Telegram Groups and Channels

Written by Thirumalraj

By default, anyone can add you to Telegram groups and channels.

Like WhatsApp, Telegram has the option to control who can add you to the groups.

The below steps also apply to the Telegram channels.

I use the app (Android phone and iPhone), Desktop app, and Web.

Change Who Can Add You to Telegram Groups and Channels (Android)

Here are the steps:

Open the Telegram app and hit the three horizontal lines at the top left.

Select Settings between Saved Messages and Invite Friends.

Hit Privacy and Security between Notifications and Sounds and Data and Storage.

In the Privacy section, you can see Groups & Channels between Calls and Voice Messages.

Hit it, and you can see the “Who can add me to group chats” section at the top.

To let anyone add you to the group, choose Everybody. If you prefer to allow only your contacts to add you to the Telegram group, select My Contacts.

Hit the Tick icon at the top right.

That’s it.

If you like to add exceptions to the above, follow the below steps:

Hit Add Users, which is beside Never Allow. Choose the people and group you want. Those can never add you to channels and groups. Tap the Tick icon at the bottom right.

Hit Add Users beside Always Allow. You can only see this option if you choose “My Contacts” in the above steps.

Choose the group and people you want, and those can add you to groups and channels. Tap the Tick icon at the bottom right.

That’s it. Ensure to hit the Tick icon at the top right.

Remember that this exception overrides the setting which you see at the top.

Stop Someone From Adding You to Telegram Groups and Channels (iPhone)

Here are the steps:

Open the Telegram app and hit Settings at the bottom.

Hit Privacy and Security between Notifications and Sounds and Data and Storage.

In the Privacy section, you can see Groups & Channels beneath Forwarded Messages.

Hit it, and you can see the “Who Can Add Me” section at the top.

To let anyone add you to the group, choose Everybody. If you prefer to allow only your contacts to add you to the Telegram group, select My Contacts.

Hit the Back at the top left.

That’s it.

If you like to add exceptions to the above, follow the below steps:

Hit Add Users, which is beside Never Allow. Choose the people and group you want. Those can never add you to channels and groups. Tap Done at the top right.

Hit Add Users beside Always Allow. You can only see this option if you choose “My Contacts” in the above steps.

Choose the group and people you want, and those can add you to groups and channels. Tap Done at the top right.

That’s it. Make sure to tap Back at the top left.

Remember that this exception overrides the setting which you see at the top.

Change Who Can Add You to Groups and Channels on Telegram Web or Desktop

Here are the steps:

Open the Telegram Web or Desktop app.

Hit the three horizontal lines in the left sidebar.

Select Settings > Privacy and Security.

Hit Groups & channels if you’re on the Desktop app. Click Who can add me to group chats if you’re on the Web.

Choose Everybody or My contacts. Please see the above section to learn about these options.

Hit the Save option if you’re using Desktop or the Back arrow at the top left if you’re using Web.

That’s it.

If you like to add exceptions to the above, follow the below steps:

Hit Add Users, which is beside Never allow. Choose the people and group you want. Those can never add you to channels and groups—Hit Save if you’re on Desktop or the Arrow icon at the bottom if you’re on Telegram Web.

Hit Add Users beside Always allow. You can only see this option if you choose “My contacts” in the above steps.

Choose the group and people you want, and those can add you to groups and channels—Click Save if you’re on Desktop or the Arrow icon at the bottom if you’re on Telegram Web.

That’s it. Make sure to hit Save (if you’re using Desktop) or the Back arrow at the top left (if you’re using Web).

Remember that this exception overrides the setting which you see at the top.

That’s all.

Thanks for reading.

Search

Categories