Home » Telegram » How to Enable or Disable Auto-Delete on Telegram

How to Enable or Disable Auto-Delete on Telegram

Written by Thirumalraj

The auto-delete timer feature on Telegram automatically deletes the messages in the chat after your chosen duration.

Remember these necessary things:

  • You can enable this feature for any chat (group or contact) you want.
  • For the group chats, only the admin can enable this feature.
  • Auto-delete will begin from the time you send the message.
  • When you enable this feature for a chat, it gets applied for you and every participant in the conversation, and new messages will auto-delete for everyone after the chosen duration.

Let’s see how to turn on or off the Telegram auto-delete feature on the Web, Desktop, and app (Android phone and iPhone).

Table of Contents

Enable or Disable Auto-Delete on Telegram (Android)

If you’re using an Android phone, follow these steps to enable it:

Open the Telegram app.

In the Chats tab, tap the chat you like and hit the name at the top.

Tap the three vertical dots at the top right and select Auto-Delete above Share contact.

Choose any available durations – 1 day, 1 week, or 1 month.

Or you can set another duration by choosing “Custom.” You can see these durations here:

1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days, 5 days, 6 days, 1 week, 2 weeks, 3 weeks, 1 month, 2 months, 3 months, 4 months, 5 months, 6 months, and 1 year.

Choose the one you prefer and hit the Confirm button.

That’s all. From now on, Telegram will automatically delete the messages after your chosen duration.

How to Disable Auto-Delete in Telegram

Here are the steps:

Open the conversation and tap the name at the top.

Hit the three vertical dots at the top right and select Auto-Delete.

Hit Disable, and that’s all.

Alternatively, you can follow the steps above and see Custom. Hit it and choose Off.

Tap Confirm, and that’s it.

Read: How to Delete Contacts on Telegram

Turn On or Off Telegram Auto-Delete (iPhone)

Here are the steps:

Launch the Telegram app and open the chat you prefer.

Hit the name at the top and tap “more.”

Between Share Contact and Clear Messages, you can see Enable Auto-Delete.

Hit it, and you can see durations (1 day, 1 week, and 1 month). Choose the one you prefer.

If you prefer other duration, tap Other, and you can see many durations. Select the one you like and hit Set Auto-Delete.

That’s all.

To disable auto-delete, follow these steps:

Open the chat and tap the name at the top. Select more and tap Adjust Auto-Delete.

Hit Disable, and that’s it.

Alternatively, after following the above steps, you can choose the Other.

Tap Disable Auto-Delete.

That’s it.

See: How to Translate Messages on Telegram

Enable or Disable Auto-Delete in Telegram Desktop

Here are the steps to enable it:

Open the Telegram Desktop app.

Click on the chat and the name at the top.

Hit the three vertical dots at the top right and select Auto-Delete.

Choose the duration you want and hit Save.

That’s it. If you like to disable this feature, follow the above steps and hit Disable.

That’s all.

Thanks for reading.

Search

Categories