How to Block or Unblock Someone on WhatsApp
  • Save
Home » WhatsApp » How to Block or Unblock Someone on WhatsApp

How to Block or Unblock Someone on WhatsApp

In this post, you’ll see the steps to block or unblock someone on WhatsApp who is an unsaved number or your contact.

Also, you’ll view what happens when you block someone and how to know if someone blocked you on WhatsApp. Let’s begin.

Block Contact on WhatsApp

The below steps apply to the unsaved number too.

Android

Open the WhatsApp app and hit the contact chat you want to block.

If the conversation you wish is unavailable in the “Chats” tab, hit the green icon at the bottom right and select the contact.

Hit the three vertical dots at the top right and select “More.” Tap “Block” between “Report” and “Clear chat.”

Check “Report contact” in the popup if you wish to report the contact. Hit “Block,” and that’s it.

Block option
  • Save

Here are some alternative methods you can use to block:

Method #1

Open the conversation and hit the name at the top. Tap “Block (contact name)” and hit “Block” on the popup.

Method #2

Note that this method doesn’t apply to the unsaved number.

Open WhatsApp and hit the three vertical dots at the top right.

Select Settings > Privacy. Between “Live location” and “Fingerprint lock,” you can see “Blocked contacts.” Hit it.

Hit the icon at the top right and select the contact.

iPhone

Open the WhatsApp app and hit the chat of the contact.

If you don’t see the conversation in the “Chats” tab, hit the icon at the top right and select the contact.

Hit the contact’s name and scroll until you see the “Block (contact name)” option beneath “Clear Chat.” Hit it.

Block contact name option
  • Save

Select “Block” in the popup.

Here’s an alternative method you can use to block. Note that this one doesn’t apply to the unsaved number.

Hit the “Settings” tab at the bottom of WhatsApp and select “Privacy.” Between “Live Location” and “Default Message Timer,” you can see “Blocked.” Hit it.

Hit “Add New,” and choose the contact you like to block.

Web or Desktop

Open the chat on the WhatsApp Desktop app or the Web. Click on the name at the top.

On the Web, in the right sidebar, hit Block (contact name). If you’re using Desktop, hit the “Block” button.

Click on the “Block” in the popup.

Here is an alternative method to do this task on the Web, which doesn’t apply to the unsaved number.

Open the WhatsApp Web and hit the three vertical dots on the left sidebar. Click Settings > Privacy. Click on “Blocked contacts” and select “Add blocked contact.” Choose the one you prefer.

Unblock Contact on WhatsApp

The below steps apply to the unsaved number too.

Android

Open the WhatsApp app and hit the contact chat you want to block.

Hit the three vertical dots at the top right and select “More.”

Tap “Unblock,” and that’s it.

Unblock option
  • Save

Here are some alternative methods you can use to unblock:

Method #1

Can’t see the contact you wish in the “Chats” tab? Hit the green icon at the bottom right and tap the contact. Hit “Unblock.”

Method #2

Open the chat and hit the name at the top. Scroll down until you see Unblock (contact name). Hit it.

Method #3

Go to WhatsApp settings. Tap “Privacy” and hit “Blocked contacts.”

Hit the contact and select “Unblock (contact name).”

iPhone

Open WhatsApp and tap the contact conversation you prefer. Tap the contact’s name and hit the “Unblock (contact name)” option.

Unblock contact name option
  • Save

That’s all.

Here are the alternative ways:

Method #1

Can’t see the contact chat in the “Chats” tab? Hit the icon at the top right and tap the contact. Hit “Unblock.”

Method #2

Tap the “Settings” tab at the bottom. Select “Privacy” and hit “Blocked.” Swipe the contact you like to unblock to the left. Hit “Unblock,” and that’s all.

Web or Desktop

Open the WhatsApp Desktop app or Web.

Hit the chat and click on the name at the top.

If you’re using the Web, hit “Unblock (contact name).” On the Desktop app, hit the “Unblock” button.

Hit “Unblock” in the popup.

Here is an alternative method to do this task on the Web:

Open the WhatsApp Web. Click on the three vertical dots on the left sidebar. Select Settings > Privacy.

Click on “Blocked contacts,” and hit “X” beside the one you like to unblock.

Hit “Unblock” in the popup.

What Happens When You Block Someone on WhatsApp?

Remember that the following applies when you block someone from your Android phone, iPhone, WhatsApp Web, or Desktop app.

WhatsApp will not notify them you’ve blocked them when you block contact or unsaved number.

And there are certain things that they can’t do regarding you after blocking. Let’s see what they are here.

Here are the things that will happen:

  • WhatsApp will not deliver the blocked contact’s messages to you. The old messages from them are unaffected. Remember that you, too, can’t send messages to them before unblocking them.
  • They can’t see your online and last seen. You, too, can’t view theirs.
  • And they can’t make you WhatsApp calls (video and voice). Their old call records are unaffected. Remember that, like the messages, you can’t call them until you unblock them.
  • The media sent by them are unaffected.
  • Blocking doesn’t affect the group chat. If you and your blocked contact are in the same WhatsApp group, they can see your message in that group chat. You, too, can see theirs.
  • WhatsApp will not remove it from your phone’s Contacts app or WhatsApp contact list if you block a contact.

That’s it.

If you wish to let your blocked contact communicate with you on WhatsApp like others, you need to unblock them.

Know If Someone Blocked You on WhatsApp

WhatsApp doesn’t offer the option to know who has blocked you. However, a few checks will help you with this, and let’s see what they are.

Note: Do all the below checks.

1. Open the chat of the contact you want to know whether they blocked you.

Do you see “Online” or “last seen” of that contact?

If you see any of them, you’re not blocked. If your answer is no, it may be because they’ve changed the privacy setting.

2. Send a message to that contact.

If it got delivered to the recipient (in other words, double ticks)? If you see it, you’re not blocked. After a while, if you still see a single tick only, follow the next one.

3. Give a WhatsApp call to that person.

If the person picked up the call, they didn’t block you. Otherwise, continue.

4. Can you add that contact to the WhatsApp group? If your answer is no, it may be because they’ve changed the privacy setting.

5. Did you see that person’s WhatsApp profile picture earlier and can’t see it now?

If your answer is no, it may be because they’ve changed the privacy setting.

If you can’t see the last seen or online, get a call picked up by them, view their profile photo, add them to the group, and view your message delivered to them, they likely blocked you.