How to Bypass Recycle Bin in Windows 10

In Windows 10, deleting an item places it in the Recycle Bin by default.

You can bypass the Recycle Bin and delete the item permanently by following these steps:

Select the item(s) you want to delete.

Press Shift + Delete.

A confirmation pop-up will appear. Click “Yes” on it.

The items were permanently deleted.

Alternately, you can complete this task by following these steps:

Select the item(s) you want to remove.

Hit Arrow in the Delete option. You can find this one in the “Home” tab in the ribbon.

Hit the “Permanently delete” option.

Click on Yes in the confirmation pop-up.

The above methods are fine. How about deleting the item as usual and it will be permanently deleted?

Sounds good to you? The steps below will explain how to do it.

Right-click the Recycle Bin icon on the desktop or right-click the empty space in the Recycle Bin.

Hit Properties.

Select C drive.

Select “Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted.”

Note that if you have drives other than C on your computer, you need to do the above steps for all of them.

Hit the OK button.

That’s all.

Here are alternative ways:

Method #1

Press Windows + R, type regedit and then press Enter key. Hit Yes in the pop-up.

I suggest you back up the Registry before proceeding.

In the Registry Editor, navigate to the following: HKEY_CURRENT_USER > Software > Microsoft > Windows > CurrentVersion > Policies > Explorer.

Now, right-click on the right pane blank space. Select New > DWORD (32-bit) Value.

Provide the name as NoRecycleFiles and then press the Enter key.

Double-click on it and provide 1 in the Value data field.

Hit the OK button. Restart your PC.

That’s all.

If you want to reverse, delete the DWORD or provide its value as 0.

Method #2

Open the Run Command Box by pressing Windows + R. Type gpedit.msc and then hit the Enter key.

In the Local Group Policy Editor, navigate to User Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > File Explorer.

Locate and double-click “Do not move deleted files to the Recycle Bin” in the right pane.

Select Enabled and hit the OK button.

That’s it.

If you want to reverse this, follow the steps above, but select Not Configured or Disabled.

Read:

Default image
Thirumalraj
How To Raj was founded and run by Thirumalraj, an MCA graduate. Since August 2015, he has been blogging on his other blog, Technology Hint. Learn more about How To Raj here.