Home » Telegram » How to Stop Telegram Contact Joined Notification

How to Stop Telegram Contact Joined Notification

The Telegram app will notify you and create a chat if a contact on your device joins Telegram.

This guide is for you if you don’t want to get notified.

I use the app (iPhone and Android phone), Desktop, and the Web. Let’s begin.

Stop Notifications You Receive When Your Contact Joins Telegram

Remember that the below steps stop notifications only and don’t stop the chat from being created.

If you want to achieve the latter, you need to delete synced contacts and disable contacts sync.

Doing those will cause inconveniences while using the app, so I don’t suggest you do those.

Android

Follow these steps for stopping notifications if you’re using an Android phone:

Open the Telegram app and tap the three horizontal lines at the top left.

Select Settings between Saved Messages and Invite Friends.

In the Settings section, you can find “Notifications and Sounds.”

Hit it. Find the Events section; you can see “Contact joined Telegram” above Pinned Messages.

Please disable it, and that’s all.

You’ll not get a notification when a contact of yours joins Telegram.

If you want to revert, enable the “Contact joined Telegram.”

iPhone

If you’re on the iPhone, follow these steps:

Open Telegram and select the Settings tab at the bottom.

Hit the Notifications and Sounds, which you can find between Chat Folders and Privacy and Security.

Scroll down and above “Reset All Notifications,” see “New Contacts.”

Please turn it off, and that’s all.

You’ll not get a notification when a contact of yours joins Telegram.

If you prefer to revert, turn on “New Contacts.”

That’s it.

Telegram Web

If you’re using Telegram Web, follow these steps:

Open Telegram Web and hit the three horizontal lines at the left sidebar top.

Select Settings.

Click on Notifications.

Scroll down to the bottom, and you can see the Other section.

In it, turn off “Contact joined Telegram,” and that’s it.

If you want to revert, enable “Contact joined Telegram.”

That’s all.

Telegram Desktop

Open the Telegram Desktop app and hit the three horizontal lines at the left sidebar top.

Select Settings.

Hit Notifications and Sounds.

In the Events section, you can see the “Contact joined Telegram.”

Please disable it, and that’s all.

If you want to revert, enable the option mentioned above.

That’s it.