How to Disable Calls on Telegram
  • Save
Home » Telegram » How to Disable Calls (Video and Voice) on Telegram

How to Disable Calls (Video and Voice) on Telegram

Let’s see how to disable calls (video and voice) in Telegram. I use the app (Android phone and iPhone), Desktop, and Web.

How to Disable Calls in Telegram (Android)

Here are the steps to disable Telegram calls on Android:

Open the Telegram app and hit the three horizontal lines at the top left. Select Settings.

Hit Privacy and Security.

In the Privacy section, you can see Calls between Forwarded Messages and Groups & Channels.

Tap it, and you can view the “Who can call me” section at the top.

To allow anyone to call you, choose Everybody. To allow your contacts only to reach you, select My Contacts.

To turn off Telegram calls, choose Nobody.

Hit the Tick icon at the top right and that’s it.

To enable calls on Telegram, select Everybody or My Contacts. To add exceptions to the above, follow the below steps:

Hit Add Users beside “Never Allow.” Select the people and groups you want. Those can never call (video and voice) you. Hit the Tick icon at the bottom right.

Hit Add Users beside “Always Allow.” You can only view this option if you select “My Contacts” or “Nobody” in the above steps.

Pick the group and people you want; they can call (video and voice) you. Tap the Tick icon at the bottom right.

That’s all. Ensure to hit the Tick icon at the top right.

Remember, this exception overrides the setting which you see at the top.

How to Disable Telegram Calls (iPhone)

Here are the steps to disable calls on Telegram for iPhone:

Launch the Telegram app and hit Settings at the bottom.

Hit Privacy and Security.

You can see “Calls” between “Profile Photo” and “Voice Messages” in the “Privacy” section.

Hit it, and you can see the “Who Can Call Me” section.

To let anyone to video or voice call you, choose Everybody. If you prefer to let your contacts only to reach you, select My Contacts.

Let no one call you, choose Nobody.

Hit the Back at the top left.

That’s it.

To enable Telegram calls, select Everybody or My Contacts.

If you like to add exceptions to the above, follow the below steps:

Hit “Add Users,” which is besides “Never Allow.” Choose the people and group you want and those can never call (voice and video) you. Tap Done at the top right.

Hit “Add Users” beside “Always Share With.” You can only see this option if you choose “My Contacts” or “Nobody” in the above steps.

Select the group and people you want and they can call (voice and video) you. Tap Done at the top right.

That’s it. Make sure to tap Back at the top left. Remember that this exception overrides the setting which you see at the top.

And if you try to call someone who has disabled calls, then you’ll see this message:

Unable to Call

Sorry, you cannot call (name) because of their privacy settings. You can ask them to modify their setting or to call you instead.

How to Disable Calls on Telegram Web or Desktop

Here are the steps to deactivate Telegram calls:

Open the Telegram Web or Desktop app.

Hit the three horizontal lines in the left sidebar.

Select Settings > Privacy and Security.

Hit Calls if you’re on the Desktop app. Click Who can call me if you’re on the Web.

Choose Everybody, My Contacts, or Nobody. Please see the above section to learn about these options.

If you like to disable voice and video calls, choose Nobody.

Hit the Save option if you’re using Desktop or the Back arrow at the top left if you’re using Web.

That’s it.

To activate Telegram calls, select Everybody or My Contacts.

Follow these steps if you like to add exceptions to the above:

Hit Add Users, which is beside Never Allow. Choose the ones you want and they can never call you. Hit Save if you’re on Desktop or the Arrow icon at the bottom on Telegram Web.

Hit Add Users beside Always Allow. You can only see this option if you pick “My Contacts” or “Nobody” in the above steps.

Choose the ones you want and they can call you. Hit Save if you’re on Desktop or the Arrow icon at the bottom on Telegram Web.

That’s it. Make sure to hit Save (if you’re using Desktop) or the Back arrow at the top left (if you’re using Web). Keep in mind that this exception overrides the setting which you see at the top.

That’s all.

Peer-to-Peer

If you go through the above steps, you can see this section on the Web, the Desktop app, and the Telegram app (Android phone and iPhone).

As the name indicates, this is for peer-to-peer enabling and disabling.

You can find three options here:

  • Always – Peer-to-peer for everyone.
  • My Contacts – Peer-to-peer for only your contacts.
  • Never – this one is for disabling peer-to-peer.

Choose the one as per your preference. Like above, you can add exceptions here.

That’s all.

Thanks for reading.