Say you copy or move the folder A from Downloads to Documents. Documents already contain the folder A.
By default, you are not notified that the destination folder has a folder with the same name and the folders are merged.
If you wish to be notified and decide on merging folders, please follow the steps below:
Navigate to the View tab.
Uncheck the “Hide folder merge conflicts” option. You can find this one between “Hide extensions for known file types” and “Hide protected operating system files (Recommended).”
Click the OK button at the bottom.
A confirmation pop-up will now appear when a folder with the same name exists on the target while you move or copy a folder.
- To return to the default settings, select the above-mentioned option and click the “OK” button at the bottom of the pop-up.
- Note that the “Hide folder merge conflicts” option does not affect the confirmation pop-up that appears when the destination location has a file of the same name while you are copying or moving a file.