How to Stop Someone From Adding You on Instagram
  • Save
Home » Instagram » How to Stop Someone From Adding You to Instagram Group

How to Stop Someone From Adding You to Instagram Group

By default, anyone can add you to the Instagram group except the person you’ve blocked.

You can stop someone from adding you to the group if you wish and let’s see how. You’ll also view the steps to turn off group requests on Instagram.

I use an Android phone, iPhone, and PC. Let’s start.

Stop Someone From Adding You to Instagram Group

Android or iPhone

Open the Instagram app and tap your profile picture at the bottom of the screen.

Hit the “Hamburger” icon at the top right and select “Settings.”

Tap “Privacy” and hit “Messages” which is beneath “Activity Status.”

Tap “Who can add you to groups” at the bottom.

You can see a couple of options now.

The first one is “Everyone on Instagram” which means anyone on Instagram can add you to the group except the people you’ve blocked.

The second option is “Only People You Follow on Instagram” which means the people you follow only can add you to a group on Instagram.

Choose the latter, and that’s it.

Select Only People You Follow on Instagram
  • Save

When the people who are not blocked and followed by you try to add you to the Instagram group, they’ll know that you didn’t allow everyone to add you.

If you want to allow everyone to add you to the group, follow the steps above but make sure to choose the first option.

Here’s an alternate way (which is blocking) to do this:

Visit the profile you want to block.

Hit the three horizontal dots at the top right and select “Block.”

Please choose the first one to block all their accounts. Select the second one to block only this account.

Hit the “Block” button, and that’s it. From now on, the person you’ve blocked can’t add you to the group.

PC

The steps below apply to both the Instagram desktop version and the Desktop app.

Here are the steps:

Go to Instagram and sign in.

Hit “More” in the left sidebar and select “Settings.”

Select “Privacy and Security.”

Find the “Who can add you to groups” section.

Select “Only people you follow on Instagram,” and that’s it.

If you want to revert, follow the steps above but select “Everyone on Instagram.”

That’s all.

The alternate method to do this task is blocking the profile.

See: How to Turn Off Instagram Autoplay

Turn Off Group Requests on Instagram

PC

The steps below apply to both the Instagram desktop version and the Desktop app.

Visit Instagram and sign in to your account.

Hit “More” in the left sidebar and select “Settings.”

Select “Push notifications” and find the “Message Requests” section.

Choose “Off,” and that’s it.

To revert, you need to choose “On.”

Android or iPhone

Launch the Instagram app.

Tap your profile picture at the bottom and hit the “Hamburger” icon at the top right.

Select Settings > Notifications > Messages and Calls.

In the “Group Requests” section, select “Off,” and that’s it.

Select Off
  • Save

If you want to revert, select “On.”

That’s all.