(2022) How to Stop Someone from Adding Me in WhatsApp Group

Written by Thirumalraj

By default, anyone can add you to the WhatsApp group. To stop that, follow the steps below.

But remember that a group admin who can’t add you to the WhatsApp group can still invite you privately to join.

I use the app (Android and iPhone), Web, and Desktop. Let’s begin.

Table of Contents

Stop Someone From Adding Me to WhatsApp Group (Android)

Here are the steps:

Open the WhatsApp Messenger app.

Tap the three vertical dots at the top right.

Select Settings > Account > Privacy.

Find the Groups. You can find this one between the Default message timer and the Live location. Hit it.

You can now see these three options:

  • Everyone – it means that anyone can add you to the WhatsApp group.
  • My contacts – mean that only your contacts can do this.
  • My contacts except – means that only your contacts except those you’ve chosen can do this.

Choose the one you prefer. I selected the latter.

You can now select the contacts you like. Note that the icon at the top right is for selecting all.

Hit the Tick icon in the bottom right.

That’s all.

Stop Someone From Adding You to WhatsApp Group (iPhone)

Here are the steps:

Launch the WhatsApp app and hit Settings at the bottom.

Select Account > Privacy.

Hit Groups between About and Status.

Beneath the Who Can Add Me to Groups, you can see these three options:

  • Everyone – it means that anyone can add you to the WhatsApp group.
  • My Contacts – means that only your contacts can do this.
  • My Contacts Except – means that only your contacts, except those you’ve chosen, can do this.

Choose the one you prefer. I picked the latter.

You can now choose the contacts you like. Note that the Select All at the bottom right is to select all.

Hit the Done on the top right.

That’s all.

Stop Someone From Adding You to Group on WhatsApp Web or Desktop

Here are the steps:

Open WhatsApp Web or Desktop app.

Hit the three vertical dots (if you’re on the Web) or three horizontal dots (if you’re on the Desktop app) on the top of the left sidebar.

Select Settings > Privacy.

Click Groups between Default message timer and Blocked contacts.

You can now view these three options:

  • Everyone – it means that anyone can add you to the WhatsApp group.
  • My contacts – mean that only your contacts can do this.
  • My contacts except – means that only your contacts except those you’ve chosen can do this.

Choose the one you prefer. I selected the latter.

You can now select the contacts you like.

Note that the icon at the top right is to select all the contacts. If you’ve already chosen all, hitting this icon will deselect them.

Hit the Tick icon at the bottom.

That’s it.

Thanks for reading.

Category of this post: