How to Stop Members from Changing Telegram Group Info
  • Save
Home » Telegram » How to Stop Members from Changing Telegram Group Info

How to Stop Members from Changing Telegram Group Info

By default, any participant can change the group’s name, description, and icon.

If you prefer to allow the admin only to alter the group’s subject, description, and icon, follow the steps below.

Remember that you need to be an admin of the group to follow the steps in this guide.

Let’s see how to do this. I use the app (iPhone and Android phone), Desktop, and Web.

Stop Members from Changing Telegram Group Info (Android)

Here are the steps:

Launch the Telegram app.

​Open the group chat.

Tap the group name at the top and hit the Pencil icon at the top right.

Select Permissions and disable Change Chat Info.

Disabled Change Chat Info
  • Save

Tap the Tick icon at the top right.

That’s all.

Note: You can revert by enabling “Change Chat Info.” Remember to tap the Tick icon at the top right.

Stop Participants from Changing Telegram Group Info (iPhone)

Open the Telegram app.

In the “Chats” tab, tap the group chat.

Tap the group name and select Edit at the top right.

Hit Permissions between Members and Administrators.

Turn off Change Group Info which you can find beneath Pin Messages.

That’s all.

Note: To revert, turn on the “Change Group Info” option.

Stop Participants from Changing Group Info on Telegram Web

Please see the below steps to allow admins only to change the group icon, name, and description.

Open the Telegram Web.

Hit the group and click the group name at the top of the chat.

On the right sidebar, you can see the Pencil icon. Hit it

Choose “Permissions” and disable the Change Group Info.

Hit the Back arrow at the top of the right sidebar.

That’s it.

Note: To revert, turn on “Change Group Info.” Ensure to hit the Back arrow at the top of the right sidebar.

Stop Members from Changing Group Info on Telegram Desktop

Open the Telegram Desktop app.

Click on the group chat and hit the group name at the top.

Hit the three vertical dots at the top right of the popup and select Manage group.

Select Permissions between Reactions and Invite links.

Disable Change group info which you can find above the “Slow mode.”

Hit Save, and that’s all.

Note: To revert, enable the “Change group info.” Ensure to hit Save.

That’s it.