You can send photos and videos on WhatsApp, which the recipient can view only once.
This feature is called “View Once.” Let’s see about it in this post. I use Google Pixel 4a (Android 12) and iPhone X.
Send View Once Photo or Video on WhatsApp
Here are the steps:
Open the contact or group chat you want.
You will see a “Paper clip” icon in the compose box at the bottom if you’re on an Android phone. Hit it. Select Gallery and find the image.
If you’re using an iPhone, hit the + icon at the bottom left—Select Photo & Video Library, between Camera and Payment.
Hit the picture you want to send. In the Caption field at the bottom, you will see an icon showing 1. Hit it.
You can now see this message in the popup:
Send photos and videos that can only be viewed once
For more privacy, your photo or video will disappear from the chat after the recipient opens it once. Remember, people can always take screenshots.
Hit OK. Hit the Send icon to send it.
The recipient will see the image you sent as the “Photo,” which they must tap.
Once they have done that, WhatsApp will notify them that the photo will be allowed to be viewed once in the popup.
Once they hit the OK in the popup, they can view the image. After hitting the back arrow on the top left, they’ll be on the chat screen.
They’ll see the message “Opened” in the image’s place.
Here are some other important things to note:
- Media (pictures and videos) set to view once will not be auto-downloaded. You can’t also manually download it. Needless to say, you can’t find it in the “Camera Roll” or “Gallery.”
- You can’t star or forward the photo or video.
- It will expire if the recipient doesn’t open a picture or video within 14 days.
Thanks for reading.